Posted in Book Blog, New Releases

New Book Releases – 30 Jul 2020

Hola, Book Dragons! Do you have any anticipated releases today? Got one for you guys. 😊

Feathertide – Beth Cartwright

Feathertide

Synopsis:
A girl.

A secret.

A life-changing journey.

Born covered in the feathers of a bird, and kept hidden in a crumbling house full of secrets, Marea has always known she was different, but never known why. And so to find answers, she goes in search of the father she has never met.

The hunt leads her to the City of Murmurs, a place of mermaids and mystery, where jars of swirling mist are carried through the streets by the broken-hearted.

And Marea will never forget what she learns there

Feathertide is an enchanting, magical novel perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus and Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale.

What about you guys? Is this book on your TBR?

∼Lyn

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews, Netgalley

Book Review: This Eternity of Masks and Shadows – Karsten Knight

Rating: 4/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre:Β Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBTQ, LGBT

Review:

In a world where Gods reincarnate as humans, Cairn is an 18-year-old whose life used to be normal and her worries that of a simple teen. Then she lost her mother in what looked like suicide. Her life fell apart and she spiraled into a dark place, hell-bent on self-destructing. Until she unearthed secrets her mother had been keeping. As she dug deeper, she found out there was a lot more to her mother’s death than she realized. Continue reading “Book Review: This Eternity of Masks and Shadows – Karsten Knight”

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews

Book Review: Reborn Yesterday – Tessa Bailey

Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Fantasy

Review:

Ginny Lynn was an ordinary woman, albeit with a not-so-normal job as a funeral home director, a job that alienated her from other women, leaving her to lead a solitary life without friends. She started her night shift same as every night, with a dead body on her embalming table. Until the dead body opened his eyes and sat up, turning her life upside down. Continue reading “Book Review: Reborn Yesterday – Tessa Bailey”

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews

Book Review: The Starless Sea – Erin Morgenstern

Rating: 4/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre:Β Young Adult,Β Fantasy

Review:

Once upon a time, a young boy found a painted door, which led to a hidden world called The Starless Sea, with rooms and rooms of stories. (Of course, the boy was not aware of this then.) To open it or not? Years later, that boy, grown-up, finds a book telling his story and so, embarks on a journey of endless wonder.

The Starless Sea was like a shrewdly crafted quilt with each piece adding something to the whole picture or like puzzle pieces thrown here and there and you had no idea where they fit in until you brought all of them together. This story with its countless smaller ones, interlocked together, dazzled me. Continue reading “Book Review: The Starless Sea – Erin Morgenstern”

Posted in Book Blog, New Releases

New Book Releases – 25 February 2020

Hola, Book Dragons! I’m featuring a new book release today (that I’m interested in πŸ˜‰ ). Happy Book Birthday to this gem!

The Shadows Between Us
by Tricia Levenseller

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Romance

cover

Synopsis:
Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:
1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.
No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it.
But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queenβ€”all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?

What about you guys? Do you know about this book? The cover is fantastic and that synopsis? Just makes you wanna grab the book, right? πŸ˜‰

∼Lyn

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews

Book Review: Sweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles #4.5) – Ilona Andrews

Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre:Β Fantasy

Review:

Dina of the Innkeepers is back! Innkeepers have their own special holiday, the Treaty Stay and you would think a special holiday would be a time for fun and partay! Am I right? But no, once again unexpected guests show up and Dina’s on damage control.

I loved seeing Dina and Sean together. The Innkeeper Chronicles is one of my favorite series and I definitely want more stories in it. So, this novella was a welcome surprise. It was a shiny little gem that I wanted to gush over with giddy joy. Continue reading “Book Review: Sweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles #4.5) – Ilona Andrews”

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews

Book Review: Sweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles #4) – Ilona Andrews

Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Review:

What did I think of this book? My reaction – Oh my God, I can’t believe I didn’t read this book the moment it was released! That’s how good this story was.

I first met Arland the Vampire in the Innkeeper Chronicles and he was such an intriguing character, I wanted to know more about him. Then Maud and her daughter Helen appeared in the picture and he was a goner. Arland asked her to marry him but she refused. Still, she accepted his invitation to come to his homeland and see if they could make it work. Continue reading “Book Review: Sweep of the Blade (Innkeeper Chronicles #4) – Ilona Andrews”

Posted in Book Blog, Book Reviews

Book Review: The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient #1) – Helen Hoang

Rating: 4/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre: ContemporaryΒ Romance

Review:

Seeing this book often on my Instagram feed made me super curious to know what it was all about. Based on the cover and blurb, I figured it would be a cute romantic comedy. Boy, was I wrong. It was cute and a romance but oh my God, it was so hot it singed my fingers.
Continue reading “Book Review: The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient #1) – Helen Hoang”

Posted in Book Reviews, Netgalley

ARC Book Review: Beasts of the Frozen Sun (Frozen Sun Saga #1) – Jill Criswell

Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre: Young AdultΒ Fantasy

Review:

This book was in one word amazing. But I’m getting way ahead of myself. Let’s start chronologically. First, the book cover, which is gorgeous! It was the cover that drew me first and then the blurb held my attention.

Second, writing style. The author’s writing style is so on point with beautiful prose that was a pleasure to read. I fell down the rabbit hole from the first page and kept going deeper and deeper until it was vital for me to get to the end of the book before I could do anything else. The world-building was so rich with vivid detail that I felt like I was there with Lira, living her life.

The main characters Lira and Reyker were both compelling characters. Throughout the book, I was like a cheerleader waving my pom-pom in the air, cheering for them. All their troubles, everything they went through, I couldn’t believe they’d survive it. This book make me experience so many emotions I was soaked in them.

The plot-line was excellent with twists and turns that caught me like sudden tennis balls winging at my head. Every time I thought they’d make it, something worse happened. They just couldn’t seem to catch a break. And the revelations? Boy, I so did not see them coming.

To summarize, this was a splendid book with a fantastic story-line that will keep you on the edge of your seat, biting your fingernails and deprive you of sleep, food and drink until you finish it. I can’t wait for the sequel.

***Note: Received from Netgalley for an honest review.

IMG_20190719_235007_446.jpg
Burn brightly. Love fiercely. For all else is dust. Every child of Glasnith learns the last words of Aillira, the god-gifted mortal whose doomed love affair sparked a war of gods and men, and Lira of clan Stone knows the story better than most. As a descendant of Aillira and god-gifted in her own right, she has the power to read people’s souls, to see someone’s true essence with only a touch of her hand. When a golden-haired warrior washes up on the shores of her homeland–one of the fearful marauders from the land of the Frozen Sun–Lira helps the wounded man instead of turning him in. After reading his soul, she realizes Reyker is different than his brethren who attack the coasts of Glasnith. He confides in her that he’s been cursed with what his people call battle-madness, forced to fight for the warlord known as the Dragon, a powerful tyrant determined to reignite the ancient war that Aillira started. As Lira and Reyker form a bond forbidden by both their clans, the wrath of the Dragon falls upon them and all of Glasnith, and Lira finds herself facing the same tragic fate as her ancestor. The battle for Lira’s life, for Reyker’s soul, and for their peoples’ freedom has only just begun.
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Year of Shadows – Claire Legrand

Rating: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Genre: Middle-Grade, Fantasy, Ghosts, Gothic

Read Count: 2

Review:

Four years later and this book still has a powerful hold on my heart. It was one of the first books by Claire Legrand that I read and her writing style grabbed me and hooked me in deep. The flow of words was beautiful and a pleasure to read. Continue reading “Book Review: The Year of Shadows – Claire Legrand”